Posted on

The Music In My Bones

It’s the twirling and the twisting

And the spin, the dip, the whirl

The flying of my feet

And the beauty in the beat

.

It’s the music in my bones

And pounding in my chest

The laughter from my lips

And swinging in my hips

.

It’s the smoothness of the steps

The feeling of the frolic

It’s the hand upon my waist

And the smile upon your face

.

It’s the very need to dance

The knowledge of the steps

It’s being unrestrained

Exhilaration that’s unfeigned

.

It’s the sweat that’s in the movement

And the feel of hand in hand

It’s the flight, the fight, the fall

The splendor of it all

.

It’s the rush of being held

The rush of my own feet

It’s the beauty in the action

The following chain reaction

.

It’s the tune that’s in my soul

And the steps that match

It’s the very dance that embraces

And the whirl of all the faces

.

It’s the twirling and the twisting

And the spin, the dip, the whirl

The flying of my feet

And the beauty in the beat

 

Many of my closest friends know that I have a thing for guys who can two step. I love it. For somebody to be able to grab you, go through the motions, dip and spin you around till you’re dizzy, for me, it is so much fun. What more do you want that a guy who can dance? I mean, half the time I’m busy singing the country music we’re dancing to, and then laughing when they can spin me around, and around and around. I love it.

I bring this up because over the past couple weeks, I’ve been able to get out and dance – and not the clubbing type ‘dance’ either. True, down to earth, spin, dance dip, two stepping. There’s something about it that just drives me crazy in the best of ways.

I mean, I had so much fun a couple weekends ago at a uni party. A country song came on, and so me and this guy two stepped. When it turned into top 40 again, and people began grinding instead of true dancing, he only smiled, and asked if I waned to to two step again. “To this?” I asked. “It’s top 40!” He only laughed and said “We’ll make it country.” And sure enough, to the surprise and astounded looks, we two stepped. And it was great.

So that’s what that is about. Hope you all get to have a little fun this weekend, and get that freedom and fun that comes with the feeling of the dance.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

2 responses to “The Music In My Bones

Say Something!

