Posted on

Dream.

When you fall asleep

When you close your eyes

Do you dream of me?

And of sunset skies?

.

Or do you dream of roses?

Their petals soft and sweet

In their beauty, powerful

But their thorns that cheat?

.

Or are your dreams of stars?

The Milky Way and Orion’s belt

The inky sky, black as pitch

Each star glowing, each one felt?

.

Better, do you dream of song?

Of distant harmony?

The song weaving through your soul

Creating a sweet agony?

.

Or are your dreams of spring?

The sweetness of reawakening?

The sun kissed grass, the azure sky

The world from winter, awakening?

.

Or do you dream of love?

The chase, the fight, the fall?

And when you do, who do you find?

Is it my name that you call?

.

And when you fall asleep

When you close your eyes

Do you dream of me?

And of sunset skies?

.

I wrote this when I was supposed to be doing homework, but, alas, I’m easily distracted, especially when I haven’t written anything creative in a while.

I will admit, that I was also listening to a select mood of music when I did, and suddenly, knew I needed to write something, anything. And this is what I ended up with. Not bad for almost spraying words onto the page.

As for what I was listening to…Ed Sheeran’s Give Me Love, Dustin Lynch’s Hurricane, and Kip Moore’s Hey Pretty Girl.

On that same note, I love how music can change our moods, our lives, and inspire us. I’ll give an example; There is this one composition by Hans Zimmer. It gives me chills. Everytime. I hear it, and I literally stop everything, just to enjoy it.

And that’s what I love about music. That it has that ability to give us those chills, to speak for us, to tell a story. Even it it doesn’t have words. Which is why I love soundtrack music. Sure, it was meant initially to accent a movie. But if you listen to it enough, it becomes something different. You know all the parts of the song; so much so, that you can hum along with it. And when you watch that movie, the music seems out of place, because you know it so well.

At the same time, I love music, because the words (even instrumental music has it’s own words, in a way) can speak so personally to us. And that’s poetic.

Was this aside a little off topic? Perhaps. But it’s all connected, in one way or another.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

4 responses to “Dream.

  1. Divyansh

    You like your skies much, eh? 🙂

Say Something!

