Posted on

For One More Night

 Set me free

For one more night

Where I can taste

The bliss of flight

 .

And feel my wings

Upon my back

Before I have to

Give them back

 .

Before I return

Unto the night

A life of slumber

Without sight

 .

To wait within

My gilded cage

To live forever

And never age

 .

To live in heartache

In freedom’s want

The cage of gold

I’ll forever haunt

 .

So tonight I’ll fly

And soar and hope

That I’ll learn

Of how to cope

 .

And while I fly

I’ll remember this

The taste of heaven

And starlight’s kiss

 .

So set me free

For one more night

Where I can taste

The bliss of flight

.

I don’t know where this poem came from. I don’t know why it speaks to me, when I’m the one who wrote it. And I certainly don’t know why I felt sad when I wrote it.

It’s funny, how, sometimes, the words just appear on the page for what seems like no reason. Like your just a tool for your own imagination. It’s a weird feeling.

Perhaps I’ll just sit down to write freely more often…

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

2 responses to “For One More Night

  1. Arjun Sharma ⋅

    loved it Michelle. i get that u know. there are times when ur overwhelmed with emotions and u let them run on paper. i still dont remember writing half the things that are present on my blog. but this was excellent none the less.

    • Michelle

      For sure! Sometimes, when you’re just able to sit down, and just write whatever comes to mind, certain things, certain words just come onto the paper. And I appreciate it! Thanks for reading!

Say Something!

