Posted on

Breathless

The ocean blue

And its whispering hue

Has always sang to me

.

A song to hope for

To long for more

Within it’s beauty bold

.

For in its thralls

It calls and calls

To come to it, to live

.

To love its power

To accept its shower

Of salt and spray and sea

.

For to touch the sea

 Is to become free

And let my soul take flight

.

To accept power and might

To conquer my fright

Of things this bold and daring

.

For the rumble, the roar

Is what I live for

In its terror, there is love

.

For the silky caress

Makes me confess

My love of this ocean blue

.

Okay, okay, so a couple of things to say.

Firstly, I apologize for the long break I took from here…though I have several valid excuses. Of course, the first being my break in Hawaii (which was awesome, lovely, and a heck of a lot of fun), the second being my laptop deciding to go kaput (I now write this on a shiny new MacBook. I know, fancy.) and thirdly, I was going through major, major writers block.

Not to worry, however! I’m back, and I’ll do my best to be sharing my poetry and picture quotes every Thursday/Friday, as per usual.

Moving on.

While in Hawaii, I noticed something that I’ve noticed before, when in California, Vancouver, etc. I love the ocean. I find it daring and bold and beautiful. There’s a peace to it, but also a strange power about it. And I really enjoy being by it, listening to that great and terrible beauty that is the sea. It  didn’t hurt either, that in Hawaii, the ocean is a heck of a lot warmer than in Vancouver. It has a silky, warm quality that you don’t find anywhere else.

I think that part of it could come from the fact that I was born by the sea. I lived in Surrey until I was two. So maybe its just a psychological thing…or maybe I’m just crazy. Either way, I love the sea. Almost as much as I love the prairies.

And with that, adieu.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

Say Something!

