Posted on

The Stars Spin By

My heart aches

My heart breaks

When I sit under this sky

And watch the stars spin by

.

And I’m here wondering why

Watching this midnight sky

I’m alone for tonight

And nothing is right

.

Because imprinted on my eyes

Is you in your disguise

With her, with her, with her

Under my skin, a burning burr

.

And all I want for right now

All I want is to know how

To find my happily ever after

To finally find my laughter

.

To wish on that shooting star

To be right where you are

Instead, here I am with a broken smile

And you carrying on all the while

.

So here I am, here I stand

Just wanting to take your hand

Instead you’re with her

She’s the one you prefer

.

So my heart aches

And my heart breaks

Where I sit under this sky

And watch the stars spin by

.

I admit, I had another poem in mind for this week, but, for some reason, I wrote this one the other day, and felt like it fit this week. It’s grey and rainy here, and the weeks are dragging by while I wait for the key to the door to summer. Because instead of being set free into the summer heat, I’m stuck inside while it rains and I’m pouring over math and science until my head spins.

Not to mention I just feel so dreary. Sad. And lonely, because everybody else is cooped up during the day, studying for these diplomas that will be the death of us all. And while I’m excited for summer, I’m also wondering what it will bring.

This is also a poem for all those who have watched somebody that they want walk away with somebody else.

I’ll have more light-hearted stuff next week, I promise. 🙂

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

2 responses to “The Stars Spin By

  1. Sometimes the sadness has to happen so we don’t forget why joy means so much. 🙂

Say Something!

