Posted on

Find My Heaven, Banish My Hell

I’m ready to dance

I’m ready to sing

I’m ready to find heaven

And banish my hell

.

Break free of my chains

Break free of the game

Break free of the night

And breathe in the light

.

I’m going to restart my heart

I’m going to fly again

I’m going to find what makes me

And see that sunset sky

.

A way from that hell

A way from my chains

A way for me to finally see

And finally become me

.

I’m going to feel that fire

I’m going to feel desire

I’m going to chase the stars

And only stop for dreams

.

Tonight I’m going to flare

Tonight I’m going to shine

Tonight I’m going to live and fly

And live to never die

Tonight, I’m getting my makeup done, getting my hair curled, and putting on my grad dress. Because, tonight, is the night that all the grade twelves get into their limos with friends, take pictures, and go to a banquet held in their honor. Then we dance the night away in a haze of family and friends, and, maybe, a wee bit of drinking. (Most of us are legal, after all…) We get ourselves all prettied up for one night that we hope we never forget. Because this is part of the next step in our lives, so we are told.

I’ve been to a lot of grads. Fourteen, in fact. And each one, they tell us that this is the next step in our journey of life. This is the night where we celebrate the work we have done over the past twelve years, and can enjoy it. What they always forget, is that we have to go to school the next weeks, write our finals, and then we get kicked out into the real world…

Anyways, I don’t know how I feel about today. Excited? Happy? Sad? I don’t know. It’s nice to be primped and pampered, and have half a dozen cameras going off at once at you. It’ll make you feel special, and like all this work was worth it. But we’ll see. This poem is just for tonight. A little step onto the next journey, where I’ll forge my own path in life from now on…So wish me luck for a good night!

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

2 responses to “Find My Heaven, Banish My Hell

Say Something!

