Posted on

The Wallpaper Rose

Inside the halls of the wallpaper rose

The ones who sit and wait

For a pre-determined fate

Where the men they meet

Will sweep them off their feet

Where they believe in fairy tales

And spin webs of make believe

Where they can hardly conceive

A real world, outside

And instead they hide

Within the walls of an invented castle

Princesses, in need of prince charming

To save them from a dragon’s harming

To take them away, atop a white horse

And take them away, with the sword and force

And yet, they cry when years go by

And no fair prince has come to aid

So they instead, in bitterness, they slowly fade

Into the walls of their castle sham

A wallpaper rose, without a man

 

So I apologize. I meant to post this, as per usual, after the quote went up, but I got sick (again) and just didn’t have the time to do it. Or write an extra ordinary poem about what truly holds us back from our dreams.

So instead, you get a quick poem about those people who do nothing to chase their dreams, expecting everything to fall into their lap…which is hardly any way to live your life.

And I’ll do better next week, I promise. 😉

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

Say Something!

