Posted on

I Still Remember

When we were young

And the summer had begun

I still remember

I still remember

The way the breeze

Flew through the trees

As we ran wild through the long grass

Under a blue sky

Where we would never die

 

Where the sun shone

And we were in the unknown

I still remember

I still remember

The place where we

Carved names on a tree

And lay beneath it’s whispering leaves

Sitting together

Your touch like a feather

 

When we were living on dreams

And planting bold schemes

I still remember

I still remember

The lightning in your eyes

As you took my heart as a prize

With your kisses like a whispers

Planning forever

The future endeavour

 

When the sun started to set

And our eyes had met

I still remember

I still remember

The fire cast by the dying sun

The night yet to begun

And we watched the flames cast a spell on us

Your hand twined in mine

As one on cloud nine

 

When the stars were like fireflies

Reflected in your eyes

I still remember

I still remember

The taste of blush wine

As you told me ‘be mine’

And we saw our forevers

A white dress and piano song

Right where we would belong

 

And at the end of the night

Everything was right

I still remember

I still remember

The taste of pure bliss

That came with every kiss

And we slept under the stars, under that tree

My head on your chest

Where I knew I was blessed

 

And when we woke in the morning

The sun without warning

I still remember

I still remember

Blinking in the golden light

Where everything felt right

And going back home together

You were mine, no need to disguise

The light in your eyes

 

And we were together

Until that letter

I still remember

I still remember

Sitting by the kitchen table

Where I was unable

To cry, to beg, to move an inch

And you held me tight

All through the night

 

And you had to go

To fight a foe

I still remember

I still remember

The uniform, the boots, the gear

Where I cried tear after tear

When I let you get on that train

And watched my husband go

To fight that foe

 

And I tried to keep strong

Though nothing felt so wrong

I still remember

I still remember

Trying to go through the motions

Fighting the tide of emotions

Knowing what you were doing was right

But wanting you home

Away from the unknown

 

But I know why you’re gone

And I know that you’re strong

I still remember

I still remember

You said you fight for your brothers

And what you want to do for others

Knowing you’re right

And knowing someday, you’ll come home

 

So I pray and hope

As the world is crumbling down

That we’ll be together

That we’ll be together

Because it’s the hope in my soul

That you’ll achieve your goal

And get on the train home,We

To the summer sun, and me.

I had a few poems to choose from this week, and I had trouble deciding what one I wanted to share. They all ran along a similar thread: “The world may be broken, but hope is not crazy” , a quote by John Green. So I had three totally different poems written and waiting to go up. One was this one, one was an awfully sad, slightly macabre (think a Oradour-Sur-Glane tragedy), and one was very birds and bees and flowers and ‘don’t ever give up!’. How I decided on this one, I’m not sure, but here we are.

Interestingly enough, both this one and the other, sadder, poem, had a similar idea in that a soldier leaves his girlfriend/wife/fiancee, and they wait for them to return. The difference is the ending. This one has a happier, more optimistic ending, while the other one is a very dark, very distressing ending. Perhaps I’ll put it up next week…We’ll see. It might be a wee bit too dark for the internet realm, though heaven knows what we find on the internet is not always glitter and kittens and love stories.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy this one. It’s a mix of my usual and a bit of something different. And, if you couldn’t tell by the content of the lastI want summer to come, even though it brings the unknown; summer jobs and university acceptance letters, moving and all that. But I kind of look forward to that adventure…

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

Say Something!

