Posted on

Let’s Dance

There were hanging lights
On a summer night
A setting sun
Casting fiery shadows cross the floor

I was laughing in the corner
When I felt your stare
Turned to meet your eyes
And found myself surprised

I watched you cross the room
Golden in the sun
Parting through the crowd
With a wondering smile

My heart is beating fast
How long can. This. Last?

Let’s dance
Let’s set the room on fire
Leaving flames of desire
And ignite passion for tonight
Let it taste like wine
And let the whispers grow
So let’s burn down this place
Till there’s nothing left but me and you
Let’s. Dance.

I’m trapped in your eyes
Which are glued on mine
I can hardly breathe
Yet I hardly feel a need

Sparks are flying
And burning in my chest
There should have been a trial
For the lighting in your smile

I know you feel it too
From the wonder on your face
Perhaps we both knew
I’ve been waiting for you

My heart is beating fast
How long can. This. Last?

Let’s dance
Let’s set the room on fire
Leaving flames of desire
And ignite passion for tonight
Let it taste like wine
And let the whispers grow
So let’s burn down this place
Till there’s nothing left but me and you
Let’s. Dance.

You take my hand with a kiss
It’s never been like this
You whisper in my ear

Let’s dance
Let’s set the room on fire
Leaving flames of desire
And ignite passion for tonight
Let it taste like wine
And let the whispers grow
So let’s burn down this place
Till there’s nothing left but me and you
Let’s. Dance.

Yes, let’s dance
Let’s set the room on fire
Leaving flames of desire
And ignite passion for tonight
Let it taste like wine
And let the whispers grow
So let’s burn down this place
Till there’s nothing left but me and you
Let’s. Dance.

 

What’s love at first sight? Is it a sudden breathlessness, a sudden need, a sudden quick pulse? Is it like when your crush walks into the room, and it feels like all of the oxygen has suddenly disappeared?
While I wouldn’t know, there are certainly enough movies that explore the idea, and some people claim that they had that love at first sight feeling. Watch all the bridal shows. They’re all so sure, and many of them do claim love at first sight. But was it truly ‘love’, per say, or simply lust? How can you love somebody without knowing them? Their character, their habits, their quirks? Is that not what we fall in love with? Could it not be you are in the bar and you see a beautiful girl and suddenly, you want her? You perhaps didn’t really fall in love with her at that moment, you wanted to know her. It might just sound good when and if you do end up going out.
While I am not bashing the idea of love at first sight, and am wondering if perhaps when it does happen, is it sudden and a like a flash fire, or if it’s like a slow burning fire, slow to start with some smoke, but hot, and even when it burns to embers, it’s still able to burn?
While I don’t know what it’s like, I can guess. Perhaps it’s like when you fall in love with a place. You might not know everything about it, but you just know you love it. That’s what I tried to do in this poem.
Anyways, I wrote this on my flight from Montreal back to Calgary. What a crazy city. I really enjoyed it though. I’m a sucker for history, and enjoyed that quite a bit, though I think I would enjoy it better in the summer. The view from the plane right now though is absolutely stunning though. Not a single cloud; just the land that looks like it goes on forever. Something else to write about, perhaps? Better look out for it. πŸ˜‰

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

6 responses to “Let’s Dance

  1. Kate ⋅

    Purdy. Sounds like a song, any plans to turn it into one?

  2. I thought it sounded like a song, too. πŸ™‚ Enjoyed!

Say Something!

