Posted on

Sunshine and Rainstorms

When I wanted to feel like

My life was worth living

Tangled in the threads

Tangled in the strands

Of us

When we danced in the rain

Bare feet on the pavement

The grey rain sighing

The grey rain singing

Of us

When we both laid down

On the wet spring green grass

Telling a new day

Telling a story

Of us

When the sun shone

Trees dripping with sunlight

Highlighting a time

Highlighting a flash

Of us

When you told me you loved me

Light in your honest eyes

Showing a new truth

Showing a new life

For us.

 

 

Love poems. Sometimes cute, sometimes not so much. Though I will be the first to admit I have never been in love, I will also admit that love is not about the first sight. It is not about the ‘sex appeal’ or the ‘look’. It’s about that person. It’s about the way that they look at you. It’s the way that when you fight, how you deal with it. I have seen enough relationships fail – hem hem, Hollywood, anybody? – but I have also seen my Grandparents celebrate their fifty-first anniversary this year. I’ve seen my friend’s hearts broken, and a few relationships gone wrong, but I’ve also seen those couples whose love is reflected in the way their rings fit on their clasped hands. I’m far from the first person to run to when you need a little love advice, but I’m also far from the last.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

Say Something!

