Posted on

The Dancer

She slowly pirouettes and leaps across the stage

Face glowing, eyes shining, every hair in place

Gracefully turning, spinning, swirling

Like delicate petals falling

Swaying lightly, on her toes

Prancing nimbly across the stage

Looking focused as she floats

As she skims across the floor

Circling, twirling, spiralling

Poised, soaring with life in her eyes

Feeling truly free, there, on stage

Worth the fight, worth the fatigue

A feeling impossible to describe

Then, the dance is done

She takes a bow

And unwillingly

Flows away

– This is a older poem, that I wrote for a close friend at the time – obviously, a dancer. I tried to catch her grace that shows up in her movement the moment she hits that stage – all poise and passion. She’s a pretty girl, but the moment she’s on that stage, something changes. She becomes a stunning butterfly, and for a while after she steps off, the light in her eyes is invigorating. But I understand that feeling – it’s a high after you step off the stage, knowing that you gave your all out there, leaving nothing but the heat of the lights. It’s an amazing feeling, and this dear friend captures it in great beauty. Also, quick note, it has been pointed out to me, that this poem is in the shape of a pointe shoe. Congrats to me? Enjoy.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

Say Something!

