Posted on

the dream

the fog that surrounds

the mist that shrouds

a lulling mystery

that enchants you

as you slumber

deep into the depths

of a sweet surrender

the whisper

the grace

the sweetness of dream

one that leads you

as you surrender

falling gently

into the peace

the bliss

the calm

the tranquility

of the dream

 

 

This poem is something that I had in mind for a while, and when I finally sat down to write it, it flowed perfectly onto the paper. It was so exciting, and I loved how something I had written worked so well. It flows, it sounds good, and I like it, so there’s a bonus. It’s one of those poems to get lost in, to feel the way that I do in my head on those grey days curled up watching the rain pour down, racing down the pane. Or, that fuzzy moment when you wake up as the sun’s rays hit your face, and that warmth feels delicious. Or those nights where you stare up at the stars until you fall asleep. That’s what this poem is to me. What’s a dream like to you?

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

2 responses to “the dream

  1. Beautiful rhythm! Your line breaks are really well though out and perfectly placed. This makes me wish I wasn’t an insomniac . . . what I would give to float into a dream the way you’ve described it. 🙂

Say Something!

