Posted on

Nighttide

The stars that were beacons in the night

The moon that showed her face

The black of the sky, as we rushed underneath

The enchantment, vivid to the mind

The calm of the night that was comforting

The sound of the breeze that soothed

The beat of my heart as it slowed

The hope that the night would last

The sound of my breathing that calmed me

The rustle of grass as it swayed

The way that I felt, when he held me

The way that my life was changed

The tranquility that seemed to fill me

The way the sky was ablaze

The idea that life seemed so perfect

The feeling that time never ended

The calmness of just one moment

The way everything felt just right

The sweetness that I had experienced

The lusciousness that filled my whole soul

The stars that glittered when they danced

The moon that glowed with pride

The inky sky as we lay underneath

The moments one never forget.

 

 

– Now this is a poem close to my heart. A true experience, a true feeling, a true story. I love this poem because it reminds me of a summer night in the Alberta countryside where two people felt right together, with no awkward explanations, no strangeness, and no need to fill the silence of the night. Because, for that couple hours, that was all anybody needed. A peaceful silence charged with the stars and moon shining up high, crickets singing, low hoots of owls, and the few shooting stars that we wished upon. Nothing happened that night, other than that pure comfort that one rarely finds in this busy world underneath the city lights – not to mention the light pollution and the constant noise, noise, noise, where true peace is hard to find. But this one night was perfect, a night I will never forget.

About Michelle

I read, write, sing, hunt rabid giraffes, play volleyball, and play guitar. I love my big Alberta skies, wheat fields, and camping trips in the summer. I love to travel. I'm secretly a nerd. (Read as, I watch musicals, read Harry Potter too often, and can quote most of the movies I watch.) I love to be out in the country, riding quads and bikes, and just getting away from the city. I love the friends that I have and I try to be as loyal as I can. I've been writing since I was little, and I love to do so. It's a passion of mine that I hold close to my heart, and I love to use it to express the way I feel, or freeze a moment, or a feeling, in the time that it occurred. I also lied about giraffe hunting. I usually only hunt mosquitoes.

One response to “Nighttide

  1. Jingle

    love the sky imagery in your words.
    vivid and perfectly stunning.

    Check out poets rally week 45 today…
    Have fun!
    That’s the perfect way to showcase your talent, make poetic friends, and receive poetry awards and more….hope to see you in, blessings.

    To submit, find Thursday Poets Rally on my sidebar or header page, , have fun!

Say Something!

